Saturday, December 6, 2008

12 Years on, RGUHS Looks to Move Campus

For the first time since the Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences (RGUHS) came into existence 12 years ago, its planning board -- responsible for monitoring its development -- met and discussed plans to take the varsity forward. Shifting of the campus to Ramanagaram and a Vision 2020 document detailing the varsity's plans were on the agenda.

"We have 50 acres in Bheemankuppe. But as per legislation, we will have to relocate to Ramanagaram district. The government has told us that of the 71 acres, 62 acres of land is litigation-free. The remaining land is still to be cleared," S Vasantha Kumar, board convener and university registrar told adding that the university is working on this.

A document with the university's plans -- Vision 2020 -- will be drawn up. The registrar said the varsity is planning collaborative programmes with Indian and foreign universities, faculty-training programmes with other universities and implementation of virtual classrooms via satellite. "We have experts in some subjects. Their knowledge can be imparted to students of other colleges through virtual classrooms," he said.

The varsity also plans to mobilize funds for research activities. As part of its short-term plans, the board has proposed training of teachers, especially in research methodology. "In the long term, we want to set up independent P-G centres and develop the campus. For independent centres, we need to have our own hospitals," he added.

Though RGUHS was set up in 1994 and started functioning two years later, the planning board was constituted only in August/September after vice-chancellor Dr S Ramananda Shetty took charge. As per Section 27 of RGUHS Act, 1994, the board is the principal body of the university, responsible for monitoring its development in accordance with objectives.

However, other authorities -- Senate, Syndicate, Academic Council and Finance Committee -- were constituted earlier.

Besides the RGUHS vice-chancellor, chairman and convener of the board, it has five members -- K Balaveera Reddy, former VTU vice-chancellor; M B Prakash, former additional chief secretary; Satish Jigini, V-C of BLDE University, Bijapur; M R S Rao, director, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research and S Kumar, executive secretary, Comed-K. Each member has a 3-year term.


Related News


Anonymous May 22, 2014 at 6:26 AM  

Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo
News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
I've been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
Many thanks

Visit my page arizona law firms

Post a Comment

  © RGUHS Update Blog 2008 - 09. Home | Disclaimer | Contact Template by Powered By Blogger

Back to TOP